Located at 1901 Russell Street at MLK Jr Way, the new branch library has replaced the previous facility. Following a $6.5 million renovation project, the new South Branch Library/ Tool Lending Library has transformed into a warm and welcoming building with improved lighting, ventilation, and thermal comfort.
Featuring a civic presence for pedestrians and passers-by, the renovated library offers visitors a spacious and organised layout inside. The library features distinct spaces throughout for adults, teens, and children’s services and a true separation of quiet and louder areas.
The other features of the library includes increased square footage, an increase in size from 5,400 square feet to 8,700 square feet, a flexibly planned program space which will be available throughout the day for multiple purposes and a small group study room. The new space incorporates a variety of seating, including lounge chairs, space for laptop users, and increased public computer access.
Occupying a larger space, the Tool Lending Library will feature adequate storage for their large collection of tools and designated staff space for maintenance and repair of the collection.
Keeping in view of sustainability, the new library design will reduce energy and water consumption. Aspiring for LEED Gold Certification, the library has added photovoltaics to off-set dependence on the energy grid and taking advantage of natural lighting and ventilation opportunities throughout. Supporting this, it features a central, day-lit browsing area with popular materials, CDs and DVDs, holds, and self-check stations.
Gonsalves & Stronck Construction Company of San Carlos is the general contractor for this project and the public art installations are done by Oakland-based mosaic artist Gina Dominguez.
The branch construction was funded by Measure FF, the branch Library improvement program, a $26 million bond measure passed by the voters in November 2008. Project costs for the South Branch totaled $6.5 million.
The renovated South Branch Library will open its doors to the visitors on 11 May 2013.